Welcome to Rainbow Class!

Class teachers:
Miss Dodson (Monday and Tuesday)
Mrs Johnson (Wednesday and Thursday)


LSA‘s: Miss Fussell and Miss Gladyng

Rainbows has a morning session, afternoon session and lunchtime session.

The morning session runs from 8.35am-11.30am
The afternoon session runs from 12.30pm – 3.30pm
Children are able to stay for the whole day from 8.35am – 3.30pm
Children who are staying all day are able to have a hot school meal (with an additional cost) or can bring in a pack lunch.

In Rainbows we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework, sets out the standards for development, learning and care of children from birth to five. It is important that all children are given the opportunity to experience the best possible start to their education. We need to ensure that our children enter school having established solid foundations on which they can build. Children will start in our Nursery Class having had a range of different experiences. Within the Nursery Class and Reception Year, learning experiences of the highest quality are planned, considering children’s needs and achievements and the range of learning experiences that will help them make progress.

Play is one of the main ways in which our children learn. It helps to build their self-confidence and independence, enables them to feel good about themselves and develop their social skills and imagination. It also teachers them self-expression. Our Early Years environments provide activities and resources to help engage, encourage and develop our children’s learning in many different ways. It is important that learning is fun at this stage and children explore and experiment with different ways of doing things. Through play, our staff observe children and carefully intervene where appropriate, to build on and develop the characteristics of effective learning. Through positive relationships, a rich environment, and thoughtful interactions, our children are encouraged and supported to take risks, explore new experiences and be active learners who persevere, concentrate and are proud of their goals.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) is made up of three prime areas and four specific areas

Prime Areas:
Communication and Language (C&L) this covers three main areas interactions, exploring languages and listening and understanding
Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED) supports children in developing their understanding of emotions, sense of self and relationships
Physical Development focuses on core strength and coordination, gross motor skills and fine motor skills

Specific Areas:
Understanding the World (UTW)
Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Take a look at some photographs of the learning environment at Rainbows. We have incorporated all seven areas into the classroom and garden and plan activities and select resources within those areas to build on children’s knowledge.

Development Matters 2021
Development matters is the tool we use to plan and assess in the Early Years Foundation Stage. Please feel free to explore this document.

Busy Learning
In the nursery environment, both inside and outside, we have lots of fun activities. These activities cover all areas of the EYFS curriculum. We complete these independently and we call this busy learning!

Curriculum Maps
Our topic is: This is Me!

Medium Term Plan Autumn – This is Me

Nursery Long Term Planning

Translate »